ECP terminates, restores membership of PML-N MPAs

ISLAMABAD: The Election Commission of Pakistan on Monday issued two notifications regarding the termination and the restoration of two Pakistan Muslim League – Nawaz (PML-N) members of the Punjab Assembly.

According to the notification, the ECP terminated the membership of MPA Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Nadeem Sethi who was elected from PP-175 constituency of district Kasur-I.

The election tribunal had already declared the results null and void in the PP-175 constituency due to allegations of rigging.

In the second notification, the ECP restored the membership of the PML-N MPA Tariq Mehmood Bajwa who was elected from PP-170 Nankana Sahib-1 after the submission of his graduation degree in the Supreme Court while his opponents accused him that he had a fake degree of graduation after the May 2013 elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *