Sri Lanka to bowl first against New Zealand

NELSON: Sri Lanka won the toss and elected to bat first on a friendly wicket in the fourth one-day international against New Zealand in Nelson on Tuesday.

The series is tied 1-1 after the third match in Auckland on Saturday was washed out.

Sri Lanka captain Angelo Mathews said after a succession of green-top wickets in New Zealand the Nelson wicket was closer to their brown home conditions. “We thought it might get a bit slower as the day goes one so we decided to bat first, he said.

Sri Lanka have made one change to their line-up with Rangana Herath returning to the side in place of Dhammika Prasad.

New Zealand have made three changes with Kane Williamson, Grant Elliott and Adam Milne replacing Tom Latham, Nathan McCullum and Matt Henry.

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (capt), Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Corey Anderson, Luke Ronchi, Dan Vettori, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Mitchell McClenaghan

Sri Lanka: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Dimuth Karunaratne, Mahela Jayawardene, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews (capt), Lahiru Thirimanne, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *