South Africa win toss and bat in 5th ODI v Australia

SYDNEY: South Africa won the toss and chose to bat in the fifth and final one-day international against Australia at the Sydney Cricket Ground on Sunday.

Australia, who will go number one in the ICC ODI rankings with victory in the final dead match, made one enforced change with Josh Hazlewood replacing paceman Nathan Coulter-Nile, who injured his hamstring in Friday´s game.

The Proteas have a new captain with Hashim Amla taking over from AB de Villiers, who injured his ribs while fielding in the last match in Melbourne.

The South Africans also brought in Rilee Rossouw for de Villiers and rested paceman Dale Steyn for Morne Morkel.


Australia – George Bailey (capt), David Warner, Aaron Finch, Shane Watson, Steve Smith, Glenn Maxwell, Matthew Wade, James Faulkner, Pat Cummins, Josh Hazlewood, Mitchell Starc.

South Africa – Hashim Amla (capt), Quinton de Kock, Faf du Plessis, Rilee Rossouw, David Miller, Farhaan Behardien, Ryan McLaren, Robin Peterson, Wayne Parnell, Morne Morkel, Kyle Abbott.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *