Shahryar Khan officially named new PCB chairman

LAHORE: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) officially announced the appointment of former diplomat Shahryar Khan as the new chairman of the board on Monday.

According to PCB sources, no other candidate had submitted their nomination papers to contest the elections for the position except Khan who had also served as the board’s chairman in the past.

Friday was the last day for submission of nominations for the post which fell vacant with Najam Sethi’s departure.

A statement released by the PCB said: “It is notified that Mr. Shaharyar M. Khan, the sole candidate for the office, has been unanimously elected as Chairman PCB and shall assume charge at 4:00 PM 18th August 2014.”

A 10-member PCB Governing Board was initially expected to elect the board’s new chairman on Aug 18 (Monday) but as no nomination papers were received by anyone against Khan he was declared as elected unopposed.

Khan’s previously served as the PCB chief in 2003, taking over with the board in turmoil. His tenure is remembered more for Pakistan’s infamous 2006 forfeit of the Oval Test after being penalised for ball tampering. Khan was criticised then for not handling the players with enough authority during the incident.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *