PM reached GHQ for briefing, while Anti-Terrorism National Action Plan Committee meets today

ISLAMABAD: Prime Minister Mian Mohammed Nawaz Sharif and Federal Minister reached GHQ for further briefing over the terrorism situation in country.

While, Anti-Terrorism National Action Plan Committee (ATNAPC) formed to formulate an anti-terrorism action plan will hold its first meeting today (Friday). The meeting will be held in the Committee Room of the Parliament House.

The committee, headed by Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan and comprising members of political parties, armed forces and intelligence agencies, was formed during the All Parties Conference (APC) on Wednesday that was chaired by Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif.

The committee is tasked with formulating a plan in seven days to tackle terrorism, which will be presented before the nation.The political parties have nominated their representatives for the parliamentary committee.

The committee includes Senator Rehman Malik and Qamar Zaman Kaira of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), Dr Shireen Mazari of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Senator Mushahid Hussain Sayed of the Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q), Dr Farooq Sattar and Senator Babar Ghauri of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), Aftab Ahmed Khan Sherpao of the Qaumi Watan Party (QWP), Afrasiyab Khattak of the Awami National Party (ANP), Ijazul Haq of the PML-Z, Sheikh Rasheed Ahmed of the Awami Muslim League, Shaibzada Tariqullah and Dr Farid Paracha of the Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) and Akram Durrani of the JUI-F.

Federal Minister Abdul Qadir Baloch will represent the government in the committee.After chalking out the national action plan to tackle the menace of terrorism, the committee will submit its report to Prime Minister Muhammad Nawaz Sharif.

According to sources, the prime minister after taking the political parties into confidence will present the national action plan to counter the menace of terrorism before the nation and implement it.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *