Pakistan restrict Australia to 231-9

ABU DHABI: Australia were restricted to 231 runs for nine wickets due to some fine bowling from Pakistani bowlers here at the Sheikh Zayed Stadium on Sunday.

Their main scorers were Steve Smith (77), David Warner (56) and James Faulkner (33) as only two other batsmen could move into double figures.

Batting first after their captain George Bailey won the toss, Australia made a good start scoring 48 for the first and 54 for the second wicket – 102 doe two in 125 balls.

But soon they lost their grip on the innings as their four batsmen went back to pavilion adding just 55 runs. Their seventh batsman was dismissed just before 200 in the 46th over.

For Pakistan, left-arm pace bowler Sohail Tanvir claimed three wickets for 40 and leg-spinner Shahid Afridi captured two for 44. He is leading the side in the absence of captain Misbah-ul-Haq who is being rested in the match.

Australia already clinched the three-match ODI series 2-0 as Pakistan are making efforts to win the third and the final match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *