Pakistan humiliated by Bangladesh in second ODI

MIRPUR, Dhaka: Bangladesh easily defeated Pakistan by seven wickets in the second of the three One-day Internationals to clinch their first series win here on Sunday.

Chasing 240, Bangladesh completed their victory in comfortable manner losing only three wickets with 71 balls remaining.

Tamim Iqbal remained not out on 116 to be adjudged the Man-of-the-Match. This was his second successive hundred.

He was involved in two big partnerships – 78 runs with Mahmudullah (17) for the second wicket and 118 with Mushfiqur Rahim (65) for the third wicket.
Earlier, Pakistan’s troubled batting side managed to get to a somewhat fighting total of 239/6 due to Saad Nasim’s maiden ODI half-century and a late blitz from Wahab Riaz after being reduced to 77 for 5 by Bangladesh here at the Sher-e-Bangla stadium on Sunday.

Nasim, who had made a duck on his debut on Friday, scored an unbeaten 96-ball 77, and rebuilt Pakistan’s innings with a 77-run sixth-wicket partnership with Haris Sohail before finishing the innings explosively with Wahab Riaz.

Riaz dominated their stand of 85 off 66 balls, and finished not out on 51 off 40. He turned the momentum as soon as he walked in to bat in the 39th over. Pakistan scored 90 runs in their last 12 overs, and 49 in their last five.

Earlier, Pakistan captain Azhar Ali won the toss and chose to bat in the second one-day international.

Pakistan retained the same side that lost Friday´s first one-dayer by 79 runs.

Bangladesh, looking to seal their first-ever series win over Pakistan, welcomed back skipper Mashrafe Mortaza, who missed the opener due to a one-match ban for his team´s slow over-rates at the World Cup.

Mortaza, playing his 150th one-day international, replaced seamer Abul Hasan for the second of three ODIS.

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Mahmudullah, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain.

Pakistan : Azhar Ali (capt), Sarfraz Ahmed, Mohammad Hafeez, Fawad Alam, Mohammad Rizwan, Haris Sohail, Saad Nasim, Saeed Ajmal, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Junaid Khan.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *