Nine Pakistanis among victorious MPs in UK election

Pakistani politicians include Imran Hussain from Bradford East, Sadiq Khan from Tooting in London, Tasmina Sheikh from Scotland’s Perthshire, Yasmeen Qureshi from Bolton, Shabana Mehmood and Khalid Mehmood from Manchester, Nusrat Ghani from Weldon and Sajid Javed from Bromsgrove in England.

Anas Sarwar, however, lost his Glasgow seat to SNP’s Alison Thewlis.