New Zealand wins toss, bats first vs West Indies

KINGSTON, Jamaica: New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss Sunday and chose to bat first in the first cricket Test against the West Indies at Sabina Park.

New Zealand named debutant off-spinner Mark Craig in a two-pronged spin attack along with Ish Sodhi.Left-hander Tom Latham will partner Peter Fulton at the top of the order in place of Hamish Rutherford.

West Indies, captained for the first time by Denesh Ramdin, also chose two spinners in left-armer Sulieman Benn and off-spinner Shane Shillingford.The home team´s left-handed opener Chris Gayle, a native Jamaican, is appearing his 100th Test match, the ninth West Indian to reach that landmark.

West Indies: Chris Gayle, Kieran Powell, Kirk Edwards, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Marlon Samuels, Denesh Ramdin, Jerome Taylor, Sulieman Benn, Kemar Roach, Shane Shillingford.
New Zealand: Peter Fulton, Tom Latham, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Brendon McCullum, Jimmy Neesham, B.J. Watling, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Mark Craig, Trent Boult.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *