New Zealand to bowl first against South Africa

HAMILTON: New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and elected to bowl first in the third and final one-day international against South Africa at Seddon Park in Hamilton on Monday.

South Africa lead 2-0 in the series and a clean sweep will see them take the world number one ODI ranking from Australia.

The weather in Hamilton is heavily overcast with rain forecast for later in the day, and McCullum said the decision to bowl was easy.

“Here we know the conditions and expect us to play a bold brand of cricket,” he said.”Hopefully we will start well and give ourselves a total to chase later on and hopefully the heavens stay clear.”

South African captain AB de Villiers was also keeping an eye on the weather, saying it could have a bearing on the outcome.”With the overcast conditions it´s even more important to lay the foundations and do the basics very well in the first 10-15 overs.”

South Africa have made three changes with Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell and Kyle Abbott coming in for Faf du Plessis, Dale Steyn and Imran Tahir.

New Zealand have called up Matt Henry and Nathan McCullum to replace Trent Boult and Daniel Vettori.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Corey Anderson, Dean Brownlie, Martin Guptill, Matt Henry, Tom Latham, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Jimmy Neesham, Luke Ronchi, Tim Southee.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Kyle Abbott, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Ryan McLaren, Wayne Parnell, Vernon Philander, Rilee Rossouw.

Umpires: Chris Gaffaney (NZL), Rod Tucker (AUS), TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS), Match referee: Roshan Mahanama (SRI)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *