New Zealand bowl against England in 1st ODI

BIRMINGHAM: New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and elected to field against England in the first one-day international at Edgbaston on Tuesday.

England, looking to revive their one-day fortunes after a wretched first-round exit at this year´s World Cup that included an eight-wicket thrashing by New Zealand, gave an ODI debut to Kent batsman Sam Billings.

They decided to open with the hard-hitting duo of Alex Hales and Jason Roy, while leg-spinner Adil Rashid was also included.

Nottinghamshire batsman James Taylor, Northamptonshire all-rounder David Willey and Durham paceman Mark, all in England´s squad, failed to make the XI.

World Cup finalists New Zealand gave a debut to spin bowling all-rounder Mitchell Santner.

They also included left-arm paceman Mitchell McClenaghan, who helped the Mumbai Indians win this season´s Twenty20 Indian Premier League, with Tim Southee rested.

This day/night fixture was the first of a five-match series and came after England and New Zealand shared a two-match Test series 1-1.

England: Alex Hales, Jason Roy, Joe Root, Eoin Morgan (captain), Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wkt), Sam Billings, Adil Rashid, Chris Jordan, Liam Plunkett, Steven Finn

New Zealand: Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum (captain), Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Grant Elliott, Mitchell Santner, Luke Ronchi (wkt), Nathan McCullum, Matt Henry, Mitchell McClenaghan, Trent Boult

Umpires: Bruce Oxenford (AUS), Michael Gough (ENG), TV umpire: Steve Davis (AUS)
Match referee: Javagal Srinath (IND)