Nayyar Bokhari elected first chairman SFPR

ISLAMABAD, Apr 22 (INP): Acting President of Pakistan Mian Raza Rabbani who is also the Chief Patron of Senate Forum for Policy Research (SFPR) has said that SFPR is an important forum for providing necessary input on policy matters and other issues of national significance. He underscored the need for making the forum vibrant and effective through innovative ideas and initiatives.

Former Chairman Senate Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari was unanimously elected the first chairman of Senate Forum for Policy Research. His name was proposed by Ex-senators Javed Jabbar and Haroon Khan and seconded by Engineer Rukhsana Zuberi.

Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari expressed his gratitude to Forum members for reposing confidence in him and called for a collective effort to effectively provide research support on important and urgent issues. The Forum gave detailed consideration to its work plan and prioritized different areas for discussion.

In his opening remarks, the Chief Patron of the forum, Senator Raza Rabbani greeted members of the Forum of current and former Senators. He said the Senate represents the federation and has always guarded the rights of federating units. He observed that SFPR should suggest such initiatives and policy interventions which may help in upholding the supremacy and majesty of the Parliament.

Members of the Forum offered proposals for making the first ever research body of the Senate efficient and lauded efforts of Mian Raza Rabbani conducting election of the Chairman SFPR in a transparent manner and greeted Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari on his election as Chairman of the Forum. Senator Mian Raza Rabbani felicitated Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari and hoped that the Forum would rise to new heights under the leadership of Senator Syed Nayyer Hussain Bokhari.

The brainstorming session of the SFPR was also attended by Leader of Opposition in the Senate, Senator Aitzaz Ahsan besides sitting Senators Mushahid Hussain Sayed, Dr. Jahanzeb Jamaldini, Muhammad Mohsan Khan Leghari and former Senators Ch. Muhammad Anwar Bhinder, Javaid Jabbar, Afrasiab Khattak, Engr. Rukhsana Zubairi, Haroon Akhtar Khan and Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan Nasir. Secretary Senate Amjed Pervez Malik was also present on the occasion.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *