Imran Khan sworn in as Pakistan’s Prime Minister

ISLAMABAD –  Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan was sworn in as the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan on Saturday.

Khan won a simple majority from lawmakers in a Friday confidence vote three weeks after an election tainted by claims of military meddling and ballot-rigging.

Clad in a waistcoat and traditional white shalwar kameez garments and smiling broadly, he clutched prayer beads and could be seen wiping tears from his eyes as the count was announced.

His swearing in ceremony  will mark the end of decades of rotating leadership between two parties.

10:18: President of Pakistan administers oath to Imran Khan

10:14  Ceremony starts with recitation (tilawat) of the  Holy Quran.

10:12  National anthem is being played .

10: 04 Attired in  black Sherwani, Khan has arrived at the President House to take oath.

10:00 Imran Khan leaves Bani Gala for the President House.

9:57 Imran Khan’s wife Bushra BB has arrived at the President House.

9:48  No leader of opposition parties has turned up so far, although senior leadership of the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) and the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PMLN) were invited.

9:40 Services Chiefs are also present in the President House.

9:00  Lawmakers of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf,  allied parties, and others invited to the ceremony are gathering in the President House .

8:50  Wasim Akram, Navjot Singh Sidhu, filmstar Javed Sheikh, singer Abrarul Haq, KP chief minister Mahmood Khan,  Fehmida Mirza, Chahdry Sarwar, Zartaj Gul and several others were seen arriving in the President House.

Many of them talked to media and expressed hope that  under Imran Khan Pakistan would change  for good.

all the arrangements for the ceremony have been finalized and it will start shortly.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *