Four more terrorists executed in Faisalabad district jail

FAISALABAD: The four convicts, who were handed down death sentence for their involvement in a deadly attack on former military ruler General (retd) Pervez Musharraf, have been sent to gallows in Faisalabad district jail.

Earlier, authorities received death warrants for convicts Akhlas Ahmed alias Roosi, Ghulam Sarwar, Zubair Ahmed and Rashid Tipu and they were shifted to jail amid tight security.

30 more prisoners convicted of terrorism are on death row in the same detention facility. However, the jail authorities had received execution orders for four of them.

All the roads leading to the detention facility have been blocked while security has also been beefed up.

The authorities arranged meeting of the families and doctors examined the terrorists before hanging.

Deaths warrants for nine convicted terrorists, four of them involved in armed attacks on army camps in Multan and Gujrat, have also been issued.

Earlier on Friday, Dr Usman and Arshad Mehmood were executed following the government decision to remove moratorium on death penalty in the wake of Peshawar carnage.