FIR ordered against PM, CM Punjab and others

ISLAMABAD: The secretariat police have been ordered by an additional sessions judge to register a case against Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif and others in a case pertaining to riots outside Parliament on August 30.

Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Defence Minister Khawaja Asif, Railways Minister Saad Rafique, Acting IGP Islamabad, IGP Punjab, IG Railway Police, SSP Operation and Deputy Commissioner are also named in the case.

The additional and sessions judged issued the order on a petition filed by the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) leader Shah Mehmood Qureshi. The petition states that PTI workers were fired upon on August 30 resulting in four deaths. Despite a request the case was not registered at the Secretariat Police Station.

The government’s lawyer said enraged workers interfered in government matters and attacked SSP Operations. He added that the route to the Supreme Court on Constitution Avenue was blocked wile a case pertaining to the death of workers had been registered on Pakistan Awami Tehreek’s petition.

After hearing arguments the court ordered the registration of the case.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *