ECP suspends memberships of 212 lawmakers

ISLAMABAD: Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday suspended memberships of 212 lawmakers from all the assemblies for failing to submit asset details.

The ECP has also issued a notification to the above effect.

The suspended MPs are heavyweights from all the provinces and include Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Owais Muzaffar, Pakistan Muslim League-Functional’s Peer Saddaruddin Shah Rashidi, Pakistan Muslim League-N’s Daniyal Aziz and Chaudhry Jaffar.

Raja Ashfaq Sarwar, Senator Jamal Leghari, Senator Qayyum Soomro, Senator Mohammad Yousuf and others were also suspended from their respective assemblies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *