36 probables named for cricket camp

KARACHI: The selection committee of the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) announced here on Tuesday the names of 36 probable cricketers for the trial camp.

The one-month long summer camp will be held at the Gaddafi Stadium in Lahore from May 6.

After the meeting of the six-member national cricket selection committee, chief selector Moin Khan told media at the National Stadium that the committee has selected 36 probable cricketers in the first phase.

He said the committee provided an opportunity to discarded players as Taufeeq Umar and Yasir Hameed have been recalled for the camp and the focus is on preparing for upcoming tours and the 2015 World Cup.

He added that cricket of Kamran Akmal and Shoaib Malik has not ended but they were not included in the pool.

Moin Khan said that doors have not been closed for any player and every cricketer with good performance would play for Pakistan.
Junaid Khan and offspinner Saeed Ajmal will not attend the camp due to their county commitments in England.
Pakistan will play seven Tests, 13 ODIs and two T20s in the next 10 months. After a short tour of Sri Lanka in August, Pakistan will host Australia and New Zealand from October to December in the UAE.

Probable players:
Openers: Ahmed Shehzad, Nasir Jamshed, Shan Masood, Imran Farhat, Yasir Hameed, Khurram Manzoor, Taufeeq Umar, Sharjeel Khan.
Middle order: Misbah-ul-Haq, Asad Shafiq, Younis Khan, Umar Akmal, Azhar Ali, Faisal Iqbal, Sohaib Maqsood, Haris Sohail, Fawad Alam
Allrounders: Shahid Afridi, Mohammad Hafeez, Anwar Ali, Bilawal Bhatti.
Spinners: Abdur Rehman, Zulfiqar Babar, Raza Hasan, Atif Maqbool, Yasir Shah.
Fast bowlers: Umar Gul, Mohammad Talha, Ehsan Adil, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Rahat Ali, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Sami.
Wicketkeepers: Adnan Akmal, Sarfaraz Ahmed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *