President will inaugurate 6th population, housing census today

KARACHI – President Mamnoon Hussain will inaugurate the sixth population and Housing census in Karachi today (Wednesday) by filing a census form.

All arrangements have been finalized to hold the sixth housing and population census across the country which will be conducted in two phases.

In the first phase, the census will be conducted in sixteen districts of Punjab, eight districts of Sindh, fourteen districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, fifteen districts of Balochistan, five districts of Azad Jammu and Kashmir, five districts of Gilgit Baltistan and one agency of the Federally Administered Tribal Areas (FATA).

In the first phase, housing and population census will be conducted from March 15 to April 15 in 63 districts across the country and one agency of FATA. The second phase will start from April 25 to May 25.

The districts to be covered in Punjab during the first phase of census include Jhang, Chiniot, Faisalabad, Toba Tek Singh, Dera Ghazi Khan, Rajanpur, Layyah, Muzaffargarh, Lahore, Hafizabad, Narowal, Sialkot, Vehari, Bahawalpur, Pakpattan and Attock.

In Sindh, the census would be conducted in districts of Karachi West, Karachi South, Karachi East Korengi, Karachi Central, Malir, Hyderabad and Ghotki.

The districts to be covered in the first phase of the census in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa include Peshawar, Mardan, Swabi, Charsadda, Nowshera, Laki Marwat, Dera Ismail Khan, Hangu, Abbotabad, Haripur, Mansehra, Battagram, Turghar.

The districts to be covered in the first phase of the census in Balochistan include Awaran, Quetta, Lesbela, Dera Bughti, Kohlu, Musakhel, Washuq, Kharan, Kalat, Jafarabad, Naseerabad, Pishin, Noshki, Lehri.

For the census 2017, there are 365 charges in Karachi which are divided into 2401 circles. The circles have been further divided into 14550 blocks. In Lahore, there are 184 charges, 867 circles and 6,746 blocks for the census.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *