Parliamentary body to finalize name of new CEC

ISLAMABAD: The government and opposition on Wednesday finalised three names for the post of Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) and sent them to the parliamentary committee and members of the Election Commission to finalise one name out of the three nominees.

The parliamentary committee is expected to finalise the name of the new CEC in today’s meeting.Opposition Leader in the National Assembly Syed Khursheed Shah and Finance Minister Ishaq Dar in a meeting at the Parliament House finalised three names — Justice (retd) Tariq Pervez, Justice (retd) Sardar Raza Khan and Justice (retd) Tanveer Ahmed — and sent them to the parliamentary committee to select the CEC as per Article 213 (2A & 2B) of the Constitution.

A meeting of the parliamentary committee has been summoned today to finalise the name of the CEC.

The 12-member parliamentary committee on the appointment of the CEC is headed by the PML-N Senator Rafique Rajwana, while the other members include Capt (retd) Muhammad Safdar, Muhammad Junaid Anwaar Chaudhry, Dr Darshan, Sardar Muhammad Yaqoob Khan Nasir and Muhammad Arshad Khan Leghari from the PML-N, Muhammad Ayaz Soomro, Shazia Marri and Senator Islamuddin Sheikh from the PPP, Shehryar Afridi of the PTI, Doctor Muhammad Farooq Sattar of the MQM and Haji Muhammad Adeel of the ANP.

After finalising three names, Khursheed Shah called the PTI vice chairman Shah Mehmood Qureshi, JI ameer Sirajul Haq, ANP chief Asfandyar Wali and Farooq Sattar and informed them about the names being considered, whereas Ishaq Dar contacted the PkMAP chief Mehmood Khan Achakzai, Ijazul Haq, Hasil Bazinjo of the National Party and leaders of the JUI-F.

During the consultation meeting Khursheed Shah and Ishaq Dar dropped the names of Justice (R) Shakirullah Jan and Justice (R) Mian Muhammad Ajmal who were short listed on Tuesday. Sources said Justice (R) Tanveer Ahmed’s name has been proposed by the government.

Talking to media after the meeting, Ishaq Dar said three names have been short listed and would now be sent to Speaker National Assembly Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.He said he was hopeful that the matter would be resolved before the deadline ends.

“I believe that the parliamentary committee would take a wise decision.” said the minister.

Khursheed Shah said political maturity has been exhibited in the appointment of the CEC, adding that the delay occurred to due objections raised by other parties.

“Consultation with other parties over the appointment of the CEC is not a constitutional right but we considered it a moral obligation,” he said.

The opposition leader said it is for the first time in the history of the country that the government and the opposition have agreed on a single list to be submitted to the parliamentary committee for finalisation of the name of the CEC.

“This shows maturity of the political leadership,” he added.
INP ADDS: Meanwhile PTI central Information Secretary Dr. Shireen Mazari on Wednesday said that 3 names were put forward by Opposition Leader Khursheed Shah to PTI Vice Chairman Shah Mahmood Qureshi for CEC’s post.

PTI chairman and the party hold all three gentlemen, Sardar Raza Khan, Tariq Pervez and T A Khan in the highest esteem.

However, she said, PTI feels the appointment of the CEC is insufficient in itself to establish the independence of the ECP, as the CEC is merely one amongst five Commissioners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *