Islamabad United wins toss elects bowling

Report Web desk : Defending champions Islamabad United won the toss and elected to bowl first in the opening match against Peshawar Zalmi in the second edition of Pakistan Super League. Islamabad United team include Sharjeel Khan, Shane Watson, Dwayne Smith, Misbahul Haq, Brad Haddin, Sam Billings, Imran Khalid, Amad Butt, Saeed Ajmal, Mohammad Sami and Mohammad Irfan. Peshawar Zalmi include Mohammad Hafeez, Sohaib Maqsood, Kamran Akmal, Eoin Morgan, Haris Sohail, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shahid Afridi, Darren Sammy, Chris Jordan, Hasan Ali and Junaid Khan. United captain Misbah after winning the toss expressed hope that there would be more competition between the sides this season, adding that Smith, Watson, Hadden and Billings were his four foreign players. Zalmi captain Darren Sammy said that the toss will not affect the outcome of the game. “We have a lot of experience in our squad, around five or six captains. Hopefully we can put it out there on the field.” Islamabad had a rough start to the inaugural PSL edition last year. After four heavy defeats in their first six games, almost everybody had written off Misbah’s men. However, the team rose from the ashes to claim the championship and will look to leave no stone unturned in successfully defending their title. Peshawar Zalmi ended last year’s season at the top of the table but were eliminated in the playoffs by none other than Islamabad United. A hot favourite among the fans since the very start, the team’s unexpected elimination had broken the hearts of millions. This time around, the team will look to avenge their defeat. Sammy, a two-time ICC World T20 winning captain, will be leading Peshawar for the first time, after last year’s captain Shahid Afridi handed him the captaincy.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *